INCITE Journal of Experimental Media – help publish issue #3!

Only 3 days left to contribute and help publish INCITE Journal of Experimental Media‘s third issue, NEW AGES.  A long-time supporter and friend of the Winnipeg experimental film and media scene, Brett Kashmere, filmmaker, writer, curator, and publisher of INCITE has provided much needed critical dialogue and attention to filmmakers and media artists working today.

<<<Donate Here! >>>…however small, every contribution counts!

INCITE#3 aims at addressing the generational shifts and divides in today’s experimental film, video, and new media spheres, utilizing the 2010 International Experimental Media Congress as an opportunity for reflection. In addition to compiling a dossier of idiosyncratic reflections on the Congress, this issue also focuses on the renewed fascination with “New Age” spirituality, philosophy and aesthetics among contemporary media artists.

Other highlights of this issue include Walter Forsberg‘s wide-ranging essay about the computer animation pioneer Lillian Schwartz (which comes with a 3-D twist), Thomas Beard‘s astute analysis of Shana Moulton‘s Whispering Pines video serial, a Jacob Ciocci and Jesse McLean “G-Chat,” Jaimz Asmundson on his new film, The Magus, and Brian L. Frye‘s citation study of The New York Times, which measures the relative importance of avant-garde filmmakers.

Since 2008, INCITE has produced two print issues (“Manifest” and “Counter-Archive”) containing scholarly articles, manifestos, artist statements and original drawings; as well as an artist multiple, a DVD compilation, an ongoing, online interview series (Back and Forth), and numerous screenings, events, and launch parties. Past contributors and collaborating organizations include Jonas Mekas, Jenny Perlin, Richard Kerr, Bruce Conner, Craig Baldwin, Double Negative Collective, Ben Russell, Tasman Richardson, Sandra Gibson and Luis Recoder, Cory Arcangel, Penny Lane, Michael Robinson, Aleesa Cohene, The Images Festival (Toronto), WNDX: Winnipeg Festival of Film and Video Art, Available Light Screening Collective (Ottawa), The Waffle Shop, and Pittsburgh’s SPF: Small Press Festival, among many others.

Contributors for Issue #3 include: 
Dominic Angerame
Jaimz Asmundson
Jeremy Bailey
Christina Battle
Thomas Beard
Roger Beebe
Michael Betancourt
Mireille Bourgeois
Jacob Ciocci
Clint Enns
Walter Forsberg
Brian L. Frye
Benj Gerdes
Brett Kashmere
Eliza Koch
Kevin McGarry
Jesse McLean
James Missen
Shana Moulton
Peter Nowogrodzki
Marisa Olson
Andrew James Paterson
Ken Paul Rosenthal
Ekrem Serdar
Leslie Supnet
Tess Takahashi


~ by cineflyer on November 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: